Main menu

Search form

Search by Title, Author, Keyword, ISBN

Chris Gabbard Reading/Signing

Mr. Chris Gabbard will be at the bookstore on Thursday, July 11, 2019 from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. to read from and sign his book A Life Beyond Reason:  A Father's Memoir.

For readers of When Bad Things Happen to Good People and When Breath Becomes Air, the story of how one father's Kafka-esque foray into the bowels of American medicine forced him to reexamine his own values and the purpose of human life.

Before becoming a father, Chris Gabbard was a fast-track academic finishing his doctoral dissertation at Stanford. A disciple of reason and all things steeped in the ideas of Enlightenment thinkers, Gabbard was influenced by his favorite philosophers--Socrates, Aristotle, John Locke, Peter Singer. That is, until his son August was born.

Despite his faith in modern medicine, the very science Gabbard touted as infallible fails him. August was born nonverbal, unable to walk or feed himself due to an injury that was the likely result of medical error. In the midst of adjusting to a life of intense caregiving, doctor's visits, negotiations with Medicaid, and the pressure of mounting debt, he becomes obsessed with uncovering what doctors should have done differently to save his son from what he can only fathom as a life of suffering.

But, as Gabbard cares for August during his short fourteen years of life, he experiences a profound evolution as the monumental truths of his idols give way and he comes to understand that his son is undeniably a person deserving of life. Unflinching and luminous, A Life Beyond Reason is an account of medical error, family, and excruciating personal and philosophical transformations for anyone who has questioned the very foundations of their beliefs"

Event date: 
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
1971 San Marco Blvd.
Jacksonville, FL 32207-3211
A Life Beyond Reason: A Father's Memoir Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780807060575
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beacon Press - May 28th, 2019

"Gabbard writes with wit and humility about how caring for August prompted him to reexamine his deepest assumptions about the value and purpose of human life. This book should be required reading for parents, caregivers, teachers, and doctors." 
--Rachel Adams, author of Raising Henry