Search form

Search by Title, Author, Keyword, ISBN

Bloodmarked (The Legendborn Cycle #2) (Hardcover)

Bloodmarked (The Legendborn Cycle #2) By Tracy Deonn Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Legendborn Cycle series.

November/December 2022 Kids Indie Next List


Bloodmarked is a great sequel to a stunning debut. I love how Deonn went even deeper with her remixing of ‘traditional’ YA fantasy tropes and narratives, amazing character building, and a deep, satisfying twist on Arthurian legends.”
— Heather Freeman, Page 1 Books, Evanston, IL

Description


An instant #1 New York Times bestseller!
“Deonn writes…stories that humanize Black protagonists, like Bree, giving them agency and a place to both fail and, ultimately, to ascend.” —Booklist (starred review)

The “worthy successor to an explosive debut” (Kirkus Reviews)—the New York Times bestselling and award-winning Legendborn—perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Margaret Rogerson!

The shadows have risen, and the line is law.

All Bree wanted was to uncover the truth behind her mother’s death. So she infiltrated the Legendborn Order, a secret society descended from King Arthur’s knights—only to discover her own ancestral power. Now, Bree has become someone new:

A Medium. A Bloodcrafter. A Scion.

But the ancient war between demons and the Order is rising to a deadly peak. And Nick, the Legendborn boy Bree fell in love with, has been kidnapped.

Bree wants to fight, but the Regents who rule the Order won’t let her. To them, she is an unknown girl with unheard-of power, and as the living anchor for the spell that preserves the Legendborn cycle, she must be protected.

When the Regents reveal they will do whatever it takes to hide the war, Bree and her friends must go on the run to rescue Nick themselves. But enemies are everywhere, Bree’s powers are unpredictable and dangerous, and she can’t escape her growing attraction to Selwyn, the mage sworn to protect Nick until death.

If Bree has any hope of saving herself and the people she loves, she must learn to control her powers from the ancestors who wielded them first—without losing herself in the process.

About the Author


Tracy Deonn is the #1 New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Legendborn Cycle. She grew up in central North Carolina as a second-generation fangirl, devouring fantasy books and Southern food in equal measure. After earning her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in communication and performance studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Tracy worked in live theater, video game production, and K–12 education. When she’s not writing, Tracy reads comics and fanfic, arranges puppy playdates, and keeps an eye out for ginger-flavored everything. She can be found online at @TracyDeonn and at TracyDeonn.com.

Praise For…


"A worthy successor to an explosive debut."
— Kirkus Review

"Deonn expertly weaves together a universe that both shines a light on the pervasive nature of racism and also harnesses the complexity of Black identity within this space. "
— Booklist Starred Review

"Pacing is superb, giving readers action-packed scenes alongside breathable moments of emotional connection between Bree and her friends. Once more, plot twists are expertly foreshadowed but still shocking, and new characters and developments (including the satisfyingly even Bree-Nick-Sel love triangle) earn their places alongside those from the previous novel. Fans of Legendborn will likely find enough re-read potential in this sequel to hold themselves over until the next book, and fantasy readers looking for more Black Girl Magic or Arthurian legend should not hesitate to start this series."
— BCCB Starred Review

"Deonn explores the insidiousness of racism and Bree’s growing confidence in herself as she takes up the mantel of king of all Legendborn. Readers will wish the story wasn’t over. A must for all library collections."
— School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9781534441637
ISBN-10: 1534441638
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: November 8th, 2022
Pages: 576
Language: English
Series: The Legendborn Cycle